The Heath Teaching School

The Heath Teaching School

Learning, Teaching and Leadership Alliance

Click here to visit our website >

Local Chairs of Governors

Jane Ainsworth NLG

Jane is Chair of Governors at The Heath School, Chair of the Interim MAT Board at Palace Fields Primary School and Chair of the CoG Forum. Jane has also been elected as the Secondary Representative for CoG Forum; in this role she reports directly to the Trust Board on behalf of the Chairs of Governors across our secondary sector.

Jane has been a Primary and Secondary Parent and Community Governor for 18 years, with her current involvement in The Heath School and Palace Fields Primary School as chair and Bridgewater Park as a governor.

She has represented Halton Governors on numerous Local Education Boards over the past 18 years and most recently sat on Halton Safeguarding Children’s Board. She was a member of the Halton Association of Governors executive committee until the end of 2013.

David Cooper

David is Chair of Governors at Sir William Stanier Community School.

David has been a Governor at Sir William Stanier for over 10 years having started as a Parent Governor before moving up to Vice Chair and then onto Chair from September 2014. During his time as a Governor he has been part of several sub-committees dealing with different issues such as Teaching and Learning, Behaviour, Safety and Inclusion. He is currently Chair of the Leadership and Management Committee having previously been Chair of the Behaviour, Safety and Inclusion Committee. David has successfully completed training in Safer Recruitment, Performance Management, Development of Training Culture, Looked after Children, Safeguarding and Child Protection.

David feels that having supported his children through their education it has given him an insight into the workings of the education system. It has also enabled him to build up experience in this field which has helped him considerably adapt and improve his input into the school.

Ian Mitchell

Ian is Chair of Governors at Litherland High School.

Ian Mitchell is currently Group Director of Organisational Development with Sefton based The Sovini Group. Ian is currently responsible for a number of corporate services including Human Resrouces, Learning & Development, Corporate Policy & Strategic Planning, Marketing, Communication & Brand, and Stakeholder Engagement. Ian has worked in housing, regeneration and business improvement across the North West for 20 years, having started as a modern apprentice straight from secondary school. Ian has since gone on to complete a series of qualifications including a BA degree and Masters in Business Administration (MBA) at Liverpool John Moores University. Ian is passionate about ensuring that everyone has great opportunities in life underpinned by good quality education, employment, health and housing.

Margaret Cassin

Margaret is Chair of Governors at The Prescot School & Bridgewater Park Primary School.

Margaret has had 25 years teaching experience in middle and secondary schools. She has over ten years experience in Senior Leadership as Assistant Principal. She also achieved Specialist Leader in Education status for Behaviour and Inclusion. Margaret now works part- time as an Education Consultant to support school improvement. She has ten years experience as a school governor in three primary schools (including Bridgewater Park) and has recently taken on the role of Chair at The Prescot School to support the new Executive Principal.

David Felix

David is Chair of Governors at Daresbury Primary School, and has also been elected as the Primary Representative for CoG Forum; in this role he reports directly to the Trust Board on behalf of the Chairs of Governors across our primary sector.

David is 62 and is married to a retired teacher; he also has 3 grown up children. David has been a school governor, on and off, for the past 28 years, and currently is Chair of Governors at Daresbury Primary School, and also sits on the Governing Body at St Chads RC Secondary School. David has also been elected as the Primary Representative for CoG Forum; in this role he reports directly to the Trust Board on behalf of the Primary Chairs of Governors.

David has a diverse and varied professional background, initially qualifying as a solicitor practising for many years in the Liverpool area; he then took the decision to become a Priest for the Church of England; which he has been for the past 30 years. David is currently the Vicar at Daresbury Church; he is also Canon at Chester Cathedral.

David’s interests are in community and economic development and he is actively involved in the local community; sitting on two parish councils, one of which he is the Chair. He is also Chair of the Cheshire West Rural Growth Board.

In his spare time David can often be found playing guitar in a Ceilidh band.

Denise Allen

Denise is Chair of Governors at Halsnead Primary School and has been for the past 6 years. She started as Parent Governor and after only a couple of years took on the role of Chair. Denise takes great involvement in a number of sub committees and is also Link Governor for EYFS and Child Protection.

Working in Administration for a number of years, Denise has managed teams but also enjoys working as part of a team towards a common goal. In her spare time, she enjoys walking her dogs, amateur photography and also spending time with her family.

Dave Sweeney

Dave is Chair of Governors at Litherland Moss Primary School

Dave is the Corporate Change Manager at Produban UK, a wholly owned subsidiary of Santander UK.  His responsibility is to ensure standardised methods, processes and procedures which are used for all IT Infrastructure and Software changes, facilitate efficient and prompt handling of all changes, and maintain the proper balance between the need for change and the potential detrimental impact of changes.

He started working for Girobank in 1977 and in the last 40 years has seen many changes in IT on the Bootle site.  Dave has staff across two sites, in Bootle and in Carlton Park, Leicester.

Dave started as a governor at Litherland Moss in September 2002 and is currently Chair of Governors. His chief motivation is to try and ensure that every child is able achieve their full potential and leave their school confident and well prepared for the next stage in their education.

Facebook Twitter
Heath School Runcorn

We would like to wish our staff and students a very happy summer holidays! Enjoy, take care of yourselves and we’ll…
33 minutes ago

Heath School Runcorn

Final total raised: a wonderful £109!! Amazing work! #bekindalways
5 hours ago


RT @LHS_ICC: Our bookclubbers loving the end of term film #whipit based on the novel #derbygirls by @shaunacross #endofterm #summerbreak @L
5 hours ago

Sir William Stanier

‘Titanium’ performed by the school choir #performingarts #endofterm
7 hours ago

Sir William Stanier

Samba band getting the End of Year assembly off to a flying start! #samba #performingarts #endoftheschoolyear
7 hours ago

A student’s perspective...

A student’s perspective...

The best thing about being a student at The Heath is that all the teachers care and push you to do your best so you do well in life and later in school. Also if you have an issue it is always sorted out by either your form tutor or caring teachers.

Student, The Heath School